Joaquin Orellana Mejia | Athens | June 28

Joaquin Orellana Mejia | Athens | June 28

The Athens State Orchestra, conducted by Julio Cesar Santos Campos, presents the world premiere of Joaquin Orellana Mejia's “Symphony from the Third World” at the Athens Concert Hall on Wednesday, June 28. In this new work, the critically acclaimed Guatemalan composer conveys his country's history and the social changes it has undergone in music, touching on the themes of colonialism, civil war and economic deprivation, as well as cultural exchange and innovation. The performance is part of the documenta 14 series of exhibitions and events and also features a traditional marimba ensemble from Guatemala. It starts at 9 p.m. and ticket prices start from 11 euros.

Athens Concert Hall, 1 Kokkali & Vassilissis Sofias,
tel 210.728.2000, www.megaron.gr

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.