Gov’t to focus on tourism with new 9-minister entity

Nine ministers will be participating in a ministerial committee to be set up as announced by Prime Minister Costas Simitis during the Association of Greek Tourism Enterprises’ annual meeting last month. Sources told Kathimerini that the premier’s decision has already been fleshed out and is expected to be published in the Government Gazette shortly. At this stage, the plan calls for the participation of nine ministers without, of course, excluding the possibility that one or two more ministries could be added to the list at the last minute. General secretaries will represent the ministers at the regular meetings. The ministries are those of Development, the Economy, the Interior, Public Works, Agriculture, Culture, Transport, Public Order and Merchant Marine. The prime minister will be the coordinator and the development minister, the president. The plan also sets out monthly meetings for the general secretaries of the ministries. Dimitris Georgarakis, the general secretary for tourism, will be responsible for summarizing the conclusions of the meetings. It has also been decided that the ministers will meet at least twice a year.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.