Tax offices on 14 Greek islands to close as ministry strives to meet troika target

The Finance Ministry has revealed it will close 14 tax offices on Greek islands as part of the effort to meet its bailout commitment of having just 120 such offices by the end of the year.

The ministry said that the 14 tax offices to be closed are: Aghios Kyriakos, Aegina, Andros, Kalymnos, Karpathos, Kea, Limnos, Milos, Poros, Skiathos, Skopelos, Spetses, Tinos and Hydra.

Greece had 290 tax offices in 2011 but has gradually reduced that number following an agreement with the troika.

The island tax offices are to cease operating at the end of the month.