OASA to suspend 28 bus routes

A total of 28 bus routes serving the broader Attica region are to be suspended from Saturday as part of a broader cost-cutting drive being pursued by the government, it emerged on Wednesday.

According to the Athens Urban Transport Organization (OASA), 13 of the routes are being axed because the service they provide is covered by other modes of public transport, another 10 are being discontinued due to low passenger traffic, and the remaining five are to be ?replanned.?

Most of the routes being cut run through Athens and Piraeus – which are also served by many other modes of transport – as well as several municipalities close to Piraeus – Drapetsona, Keratsini and Nikaia – where commuter traffic has dropped recently, according to OASA.

The northern suburbs of Athens – Maroussi, Pefki, Iraklio, Melissia, Vrilissia and Kifissia – and the southern suburbs – Neo Faliro, Palaio Faliro, Glyfada, Voula and Vouliagmeni – will be largely unaffected by the changes.