Rectors face legal action over lack of mobility lists

Prosecutors are likely to be called on Tuesday to help the government compile a list of more than 1,300 university administrative staff that are to be transferred as part of the government’s mobility scheme, as the eight institutions involved appear to have no intention of complying with Wednesday’s deadline.

The eight universities – Athens, Aristotle, Patra, Ioannina, Crete, Thessaly, Athens University of Economics and Business and National Technical University of Athens – are refusing to provide a list naming their 4,574 administrative staff, from which 1,349 will be picked to go into the mobility scheme.

University rectors say they are already short of staff and that their institutions will not be able to function if they are denied these employees. They face legal action if they do not meet the government’s deadline.

Administrative staff at the universities have been on strike for the last two weeks. They have been supported by lecturers, meaning no academic work or research can take place.