European border surveillance system is a go

The European border surveillance system Eurosur went into operation Monday, allowing real-time information sharing and coordinating border protection efforts between the 18 members states in the Schengen area.

The system is currently operating in the seven countries on Europe’s southern and eastern borders, including Greece, with the other 11 member states expected to join on December 1, 2014.

The Eurosur system allows all national agencies and services responsible for patrolling and securing the country’s borders to have access to information from their counterparts in the other member states. This information may include the schedules and positions of border patrols or reports of serious incidents on borders.

It is a multipurpose system, which operates in cooperation with the European Union’s border protection agency, Frontex, to detect and prevent cross-border crime, such as drug trafficking, as well as to contribute to curbing illegal migration and saving migrants’ lives.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.