Greece blasts Turkey over non-recognition of Cyprus

On Christmas Day the Greek Foreign Ministry blasted Turkey’s decision to send a letter to the European Commission saying that it could not fully implement an agreement regarding the readmission of illegal immigrants because it does not recognize the Republic of Cyprus.

“The European Union – which Turkey is trying to join, and with which Turkey signed a readmission agreement a few days ago – has 28 institutionally equal member states, among which is the Republic of Cyprus, which is also a member of the eurozone,» said Greek Foreign Ministry spokesman Constantinos Koutras.

“If Turkey cannot perceive and accept this simple and fundamental fact, there is no practical point to any given discussion of its European perspective,” he added.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.