Greek judge chosen to sit on UN Appeals Tribunal


The United Nations General Assembly has chosen Greek judge Dimitris Raikos as one of the four justices to serve on the UN Appeals Tribunal.

The other three judges elected to serve seven year terms are Sabine Knierim of Germany, John Raymond Murphy of South Africa and Martha Halfeld Furtado de Mendonca Schmidt of Brazil.

The Appeals Tribunal is an appellate court that reviews appeals against judgments rendered by the Dispute Tribunal. It comprises seven judges whose judgments are final and binding on the parties.

The court holds sessions in New York, Geneva or Nairobi, as required by caseload.

In 2013, the Greek Parliament voted to appoint Raikos the president of the Independent Authority for Public Contracts (EAADISY).