EU allows five nations to extend border checks


Denmark's immigration minister says the European Union's executive arm is allowing five countries to keep border controls in place for six more months to help manage the flow of migrants.

Inger Stoejberg says the European Commission has permitted Denmark, Sweden, Germany, Austria and France to keep checks at borders "for another six months."

Stoejberg said Wednesday that "we have to take care of our own borders until a joint solution within the EU has been found."

The five countries requested the extension because Greece still isn't able to properly manage its border with Turkey, which prompted the five to reintroduce ID checks.

More than 1 million people arrived in Europe last year seeking sanctuary or jobs. Many entered Greece from Turkey but made their way north. [AP]