EU warns countries refusing to accept refugee quota of more action


The European Union says it could ramp up legal action against the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland if they continue to refuse to accept refugees from Greece and Italy.

EU Migration Commissioner Dimitris Avramopoulos said Wednesday “I hope that Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic will take this opportunity to revise their position and start relocating” refugees.

He said “their infringement procedures remain ongoing,” and that “the Commission has the power to take things one step further” if nothing happens.

More than two years after the refugee quota scheme was launched, the Czech Republic has welcomed just 12 people, while Hungary and Poland have accepted none. The Commission launched the first step of legal action against the three in June. [AP]