New parliament sworn in

New parliament sworn in

Greece’s new parliament was sworn in on Wednesday following snap elections held on July 7.

Six parties are represented in the new parliament: New Democracy with 158 seats, SYRIZA with 86, the center-left Movement for Change alliance (KINAL) with 22, the Communist Party (KKE) with 15, the far right Greek Solution with 10 and the anti-austerity MeRA25 with 9.

Lawmakers will elect the new speaker of the House on Thursday. 

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.