Travel restrictions to Greece extended

Travel restrictions to Greece extended

A series of new travel restrictions were issued Tuesday by Greece’s Civil Aviation Authority to contain the spread of the coronavirus through arrivals coming from countries experiencing major outbreaks.

The new guidelines extend a ban on flights between Greece and Turkey until September 15 and temporarily suspend all flights to and from Catalonia in Spain.

Travelers flying from Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Malta, North Macedonia, Romania, Spain, Sweden and the United Arab Emirates will be allowed to enter Greece only by presenting a negative Covid-19 test, taken up to 72 hours before arrival.

A ban is also extended on non-European citizens, apart from those coming from Australia, Canada, Georgia, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and the UAE. They too will have to present a negative Covid-19 test.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.