ISAP route to get three new stations by 2011

The Athens-Piraeus Electric Railway (ISAP), used by thousands of commuters daily, is to acquire three new stations by 2011, Transport Minister Costis Hatzidakis said yesterday. The new stations will be located between Neo Iraklion and Eirini in the northern suburbs, between Kallithea and Moschato in the south and at Kaminia, between Neo Faliron and Piraeus. The first two stations are set for completion by 2010 and the third by 2011, Hatzidakis said, adding that a budget of 15 million euros has been earmarked for the project. He also heralded the creation of four underground car parks on the ISAP route, with more than 1,000 parking spaces. According to the plan, the car park at Kifissia station will have 310 spaces, at Maroussi 168 spaces, at Neo Iraklion 331 spaces and at Neo Faliron 201 spaces.