Olympiakos crowned champion

Just days after winning the Greek Cup, Olympiakos was also crowned Greek league champion for the ninth time in 10 seasons last night at the Piraeus club’s Karaiskaki Stadium. The stadium was filled with fans in anticipation of title celebrations before and after the club’s final game of the season, a scoreless draw against Ionikos, lowly but safe in the standings. It was Olympiakos’s first draw all season. The club, which accumulated 70 points from its 30 league games, had assured its title several rounds earlier. Retired international soccer star Diego Maradona took part in the Piraeus club’s title-winning festivities, as he had done at the end of last season. AEK clinched second place and the country’s other Champions League berth despite ending the season on equal points with Panathinaikos. AEK, which was held to a 0-0 draw against Xanthi at home yesterday, captured second place because of a better head-to-head record. Panathinaikos, in its last game with Alberto Malesani as coach, ended its season with a 3-0 away win against mid-table Larissa. In a crucial game at the league’s bottom end, Cretan club OFI defeated Levadiakos 2-0 to survive in the top division and relegate its rival. Kallithea and Akratitos were also relegated, while Kerkyra, Ergotelis and Aris were promoted to the first division. In the final round’s other games, played yesterday, it was: PAOK-Apollon Kalamaria, 1-2; Aegaleo-Panionios, 0-3; and Akratitos-Atromitos, 0-2. Playing on Saturday, Iraklis defeated Kallithea 3-2.