Sebastien Loeb wins in Cyprus

Sebastien Loeb of France won the Cyprus Rally yesterday, earning a record 28th win in the World Rally Championship. Loeb, who has now won eight of the 12 rounds in the series, maintained the lead throughout yesterday’s special stages to prevail over Marcus Gronholm of Finland by 21.2 seconds. Mikko Hirvonen, Gronholm’s Ford teammate, finished third. «It’s my third win in a row in Cyprus. It doesn’t get much better,» Loeb stated. Safety concerns led the International Automobile Federation (FIA) to cancel a 3.4-kilometer special stage running through the narrow streets of the old town of Limassol. Drivers still completed the course but not at racing speeds. However, Dani Sordo drove into a low concrete wall after he failed to negotiate a corner to the left. The car was towed out. (AP)