Deliyiannis wins the Aegean Rally again

Sailing champion and Olympian Dimitris Deliyiannis managed to make it two Aegean Rallies in a row after winning the trophy for the second straight year yesterday. This was the first time ever that a trophy winner managed to retain his crown in the 46-year-long history of the Aegean Rally, across Greece’s biggest sea. Deliyiannis’s boat, Life Freskostymmeno-Booker, held on to its lead in the latter stages of the race across the Aegean at the weekend and won the trophy ahead of Giorgos Sykaris’s Bana Bioleta 3 and Alpha Bank of Thodoris Tsoulfas. In the IRC category the winner was Optimum 3 – Garmin of Periklis Livas and Nikos Lazos, who beat off the challenge of Leonidas Pelekanakis’s boat A35.