European Theater Prize

French director Patrice Chereau, the subversive German directorial team Rimini Protokoll, German choreographer Sasha Waltz, Polish director Krzysztof Warlikowski, the Belarus Free Theater and other groups and personalities from the world of theater, along with 300 journalists and theater critics from around Europe, will be coming together in Thessaloniki in April for the 12th European Theater Prize. The National Theater of Northern Greece will be hosting and sponsoring (with 800,000 euros) the event for the second consecutive year. The entire event, held at the lofty Vassiliko Theater, will run from April 9-13 and will include groundbreaking performances from guest companies, as well as a symposium led by Chereau, the guest of honor this year. The acclaimed French director will also present «La Douleur,» a text written by Marguerite Duras, read by Dominique Blanc and Chereau and directed by Thierry Thieu Niang. Waltz, Warlikowski and Rimini Protokoll will share the 10th prize for «new theatrical realities,» while a special mention will be made for the Belarus Free Theater for its «opposition to the oppression of its government,» as founder Nikolai Kalezin explains.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.