The American University of Athens

Founded in 1982, the American University of Athens is an independent American university with degree-granting authority by the state of Delaware to award Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctorate degrees. Its status was recently upgraded to that of a teaching and research institution and it has an enrollment of approximately 1,000 students. Coeducational in all divisions, AUA has students from the US, Greece and 38 other countries. Students may choose from more than 45 undergraduate majors, including Political Science and Diplomacy, Public Policy, Law, Business Administration, Engineering, High Technology and Liberal Arts. The small-sized classes, usage of English in instruction, highly qualified faculty, curricula and teaching methodologies reflect the educational philosophy and structure of an American university. Major university divisions are the Schools of Business Administration, Sciences and Engineering, Liberal Arts as well as the Graduate School.