New Cyprus ministers sworn in

New Cyprus ministers sworn in

President Nicos Anastasiades said Thursday during the swearing-in ceremony of his new cabinet that he made his selection on grounds of meritocracy.

Anastasiades, who was re-elected in February for a new five-year term in office, said his government will continue its work to enhance the national health system and to modernize the public service, the welfare state and the education system.

The new Council of Ministers is composed of: Minister of Foreign Affairs Nikos Christodoulides, Minister of Finance Harris Georgiades, Minister of Interior Constantinos Petrides, Minister of Defense Savvas Angelides, Minister of Education and Culture Costas Hampiaouris, Minister of Transport, Communication and Works Vasiliki Anastasiadou, Minister of Energy, Industry, Commerce and Tourism Yiorgos Lakkotrypis, Minister of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Environment Costas Kadis, Minister of Employment Zeta Emilianidou, Minister of Health Constantinos Ioannou, and Minister of Justice and Public Order Ionas Nicolaou.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.