Greece announces final squad for Eurobasket

Greece announces final squad for Eurobasket

Greece basketball coach Fotis Katsikaris has announced the 12 players that will represent the country at the upcoming European Championships.

Katsikaris decided on Monday to leave out of his 12-man squad Vladimir Jankovic of Panathinaikos and Dimitris Agravanis of Olympiakos.

The team that will represent Greece at the Eurobasket tournament, which will take place in France, Croatia, Latvia and Germany is as follows:

Nikos Zisis
Vassilis Spanoulis
Nick Calathes
Kostas Sloukas
Vangelis Mantzaris
Stratos Perperoglou
Kostas Papanikolaou
Giannis Antetokounmpo
Kostas Kaimakoglou
Giorgos Printezis
Yiannis Bourousis
Kostas Koufos

Greece beat Russia 80-65 in the final game of a four-team friendly tournament in Xanthi on Sunday. The final stage of the national team’s preparation will take place at the Acropolis Tournament in Athens.

Greece will play The Netherlands, Turkey and Lithuania on Thursday, Friday and Saturday this week respectively.

At the European Championships, Greece will face the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Croatia, Georgia, Slovenia and the Netherlands in the group stage.

The first game, against FYROM, is on September 5.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.