One in nine Cyprus residents is foreign

One in nine Cyprus residents is foreign

The percentage of residents who are citizens of other countries living in Cyprus, both from European Union member-states and non-EU countries, is higher than 10%, putting the country in third place after Luxembourg and Malta in the list of EU countries that have a high percentage of immigrants based on population, according to a report released on Thursday by Eurostat, the European Union’s statistical service.

However, Cyprus is one of a few countries where the percentage of residents who are citizens of another EU member-state is higher than the percentage of residents from non-EU countries.

On January 1, 2021, 11% of the residents of Cyprus were citizens of other EU member-states, while 8% of residents were citizens of non-EU countries.

Overall in the European Union, 5% of residents were citizens of a non-EU country, which in absolute numbers corresponded to 23.7 million people.

The average number of EU citizens living in an EU country while holding citizenship of another EU member-state was 4%, which corresponds to a total of 13.7 million people.

The largest numbers of non-nationals living in EU member-states were recorded in Germany (10.6 million), Spain (5.4 million), France and Italy (both 5.2 million). Non-nationals in these four member-states collectively represented 70.3% of the total number of non-nationals living in all EU member-states.

In relative terms, the EU country with the highest share of non-national citizens was Luxembourg (47% of its total population). Out of this percentage, 38% came from an EU member-state and 9% from a third country.

A high proportion of non-nationals was also observed in Malta (8% EU citizens, 12% non-EU citizens, 20% total), Cyprus (11% plus 8%, 19% total), and Austria (9% plus 8%, 17% total).

In contrast, non-nationals represented less than 1% of the population in Romania. This percentage was around 1% in Poland, Slovakia and Bulgaria, 2% in Hungary and 3% in Croatia and Lithuania.

In most EU member-states, the majority of non-nationals were citizens of non-EU countries. Only in Luxembourg, Cyprus, Austria, Belgium, Ireland, the Netherlands and Slovakia were non-nationals mainly citizens of another EU state.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.