Parliament lifts immunity of four Golden Dawn MPs

Greek Parliament on Wednesday lifted the immunity of four Golden Dawn lawmakers, Antonis Gregos, Polyvios Zisimopoulos, Artemios Matthaiopoulos and Constantinos Barbaroussis, in connection to an ongoing probe with regard to the operations of the ultranationalist party. The votes were 213 in favor against 16 who opposed the motion.

A decision regarding lifting the immunity of Larissa Golden Dawn MP Chrysovalantis Alexopoulos who exited the party recently was expected to be reached in a new parliamentary session.

The former GD lawmaker, now pursuing a political career as an independent, asked Parliament to postpone its decision as he was set to appear in a Larissa court hearing on Wednesday.

Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.