Runciman Award shortlist announced

Runciman Award shortlist announced

Seven titles have been short-listed for this year’s Runciman Award, which is expected to be announced in June.

They are Anthony Anaxagorou’s poetry collection “Heritage Aesthetics” (Granta Books); Laura Beatty’s “Looking for Theophrastus: Travels in Search of a Lost Philosopher” (Atlantic Books); Richard Buxton’s “The Greek Myths that Shape the Way We Think” (Thames & Hudson); Julietta Harvey’s novel “Fear of Light” (Starhaven); Reviel Netz’s “A New History of Greek Mathematics” (Cambridge University Press); A.E. Stallings’ “This Afterlife: Selected Poems” (Carcanet); and Caroline Vout’s “Exposed: The Greek and Roman Body” (Profile).

The prize is given by the Anglo-Hellenic League annually for the best book published for the first time in English in the previous year about Greece or on a Greek subject. 

The award, which is worth £10,000, is sponsored by the AC Laskaridis Charitable Foundation and the AG Leventis Foundation.

Last year’s award went to Ian Collins’ “John Craxton: A Life of Gifts” (Yale University Press).

The announcement of this year’s winner and the award ceremony will take place on 19 June.


Subscribe to our Newsletters

Enter your information below to receive our weekly newsletters with the latest insights, opinion pieces and current events straight to your inbox.

By signing up you are agreeing to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.